London Haul and swatches of pale foundations things Part 1

Before everything, a small disclaimer: I am NOT sponsored by any brand. It was all purchased with my own means. Also, click on the pictures for bigger version.

Hello beautiful!

I know, I know…been slacking at swatches.

But I decided to give it a try, because…what can I lose?

I think they turned out quite fine :) But I have no real daylight (or no good one at least), therefore I wont be posting such swatches.

This being said, I hope you enjoy this *VERY* Lengthy post.

My main shopping place for this trip was Liberty. I dont now why, but I was drawn to that store. Even more when I was informed during my Ellis Faas purchase (first ever), that there was a beauty lottery going on, and that for every 65 GBP of purchase, I would get a scratch card and would be guaranteed a free product. Not only that, but the free products were going to be beauty related AND a best seller/Top 5 product from nearly all the brands available at their cosmetics department. If I recall correctly, the prizes were anywhere from 10 GBP to 155 GBP.

Can you imagine how excited I got?

So yes, after hunting around for a good 30 min, pondering as to what to add extra to my Foundation + Concealer bundle, I bought my hubby the Man-e-cure (Essie), which I had been searching for, but didnt find it in other places.

First gift was from Anne Semonin (Never heard of *blushes*), the bath oil that did smell like tropical heaven (worth 55GBP). I was very happy :)

It didnt end there…I returned next day and the following as well…since I had a 15 GBP voucher for opening my Liberty’s loyalty card.

So lo and behold (is that even correct?), let me introduce you to THE haul.

ELLIS FAAS Skin Veil foundation pen in S101:

From Up to Down: The Box, The foundation pen and the cartridge, heavy swatch, blended swatch

My comments: I find this foundation to be more light-medium coverage. It offers a very healthy/fresh satin look, not oily, not sticky. I have tried to layer it in order to build coverage, but I didn’t really get a decent medium coverage out of this. I still needed lot of concealer on my pimples. Maybe it was the brush’s fault, I don’t know. Shade-wise, I would say its good for a NC/NW10 to NC/NW13-15 (Mac studio sculpt). It is sheer enough that once blended, since it doesn’t really oxidize, you can be NC/NW10 and pull it off beautifully.

DSC_4460

DSC_4461

DSC_4462

DSC_4464 DSC_4465

ELLIS FAAS Concealer in S201:

From up to down: The box, the concealer pen, heavy swatch, Blended swatch

Comments: I had to exchange the original concealer I got because it leaked. And now this one seems to leak a bit if I dont put it straight up. The brush is HORRIBLE. But the product is nice. Not high coverage, but good for those days where you want something medium coverage for your under eyes. But keep in mind you will still need a salmon/pink corrector underneath if you have very heavy dark circles. What I love about this is the moisturizing formula. But I dont love it as much as my Lancome one :(. Shade wise…similar to the Ellis foundation.

DSC_4466 DSC_4467 DSC_4469 DSC_4471 DSC_4472

ELLIS FAAS Mascara in Black (Won in Beauty Lottery):

Comments: Cant say much about it, except it does lengthen the lashes nicely without clumping.

DSC_4481 DSC_4482 DSC_4483

HOURGLASS Illusion Tinted moisturizer Oil free in Shell:

From up to down: The box, the bottle, heavy swatch, blended swatch

Comments: ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. My skin stayed radiant, glowy and not oily for all day long, and yes…I have oily skin. The shade isn’t perfect match, but its a tinted moisturizer, and I have a lot of redness in my face, so it doesn’t bother me. It smells like Mac studio sculpt, and texture is similar, as well as the shade (NC15). Maybe a tad darker, but not really noticeable once I started blending it in my face. Personally, it didn’t bother me now.

DSC_4474 DSC_4475 DSC_4476 DSC_4477

HOURGLASS Hidden Corrective Concealer in Fair:

From Up to down: The box, the concealer, heavy swatch, blended swatch

Comments: Beautiful concealer. Calmed down the inflammation on my pimples, and it didnt settle in the dryness that my pimples cause. The shade is similar to the tinted moisturizer in Shell, and this really blends very very well, and has a good staying power. After a while, it ‘merges’ with your skin and it looks like nothing is on there, which is a big statement for covering pimples. But, this being said, it is still not Mac pro long wear. But its very very good, and it heals pimples (at least for me).DSC_4488 DSC_4489 DSC_4490 DSC_4491

HOURGLASS Illume Creme to powder bronzing duo in Bronze Light:

From up to down: The box, the compact, the bronzer, heavy swatch, blended swatch

Comments: My pictures look more saturated than real life. This being said, the bronzer is much less orange than what the picture depicts. But it looks awfully orange, that I didnt think I could pull it off. Wrong I was: its magic! I contoured my face with the bronzer, and not only I completely blended with my skin, but it sort of looked like natural shadow on my face. The highlighter does the same trick: You cant tell you have a highlighter, except you have a radiance/freshness in your skin. If anybody was disappointed with Nars multiples (for me they were too quick to dry, which means less time to blend, and also more hard), you will love this one.

DSC_4440 DSC_4435 DSC_4436 DSC_4438 DSC_4439

HOURGLASS Aura Sheer Lip stain in Scarlet:

From up to down: The box and lip stain, the lipstain applicator/nozzle, light swatch

Comments: I am amazed at this. I achieved a sheer berry stain as well as a dramatic nearly black lip with it. Not only it has great staying power (it lasts until you remove it with make up remover, or you eat something oily), but when you apply it, it has a great minty fresh scent, and it sort of fills in your lips (not in a lip plumper type, but hydrating type). So your lips look fuller, smoother and gorgeous! It has a semi matte finish.

DSC_4504 DSC_4505 DSC_4506

LAURA MERCIER Secret Camouflage in SC-1:

From up to downt: The box, The concealer, The swatch (from arm towards hand): A random mix of both colors, the undertone dark color and the light base color

Comments: I love the versatility, and the staying power. Its the only concealer that has not creased after 10 hours on my under eye. You have a light shade, which is your depth of skin tone, then you have a darker shade with a strong undertone. You mix those two to achieve your perfect shade. I need the lightest shade + a dab of the darker shade. It conceals pimples 100% and beautifully. But its tricky to work with: you have to really blend well or it could cake up. Shade wise…I think anybody from NC/NW07 to NC/NW15 could wear it.

DSC_4441 DSC_4442 DSC_4444

LAURA MERCIER Flawless Skin Multivitamin serum Phase 1 & 2:

Comment: Me loves. Gives me nice glow, heals my pimples, and plumps my skin.

DSC_4508

LAURA MERCIER Mineral Powder spf 15 in Soft Porcelain:

From up to down: The box, The foundation pot, Heavy swatch (Unblended), Blended swatch

Comments: I am impressed. First reason because the box has a lid that you close the holes from where the product comes out, so that you can carry it around, and when you open it…you wont be filled with powder all over. VERY smart invention. Product wise: It offers light to heavy coverage. It is matte but has a glowy/pearly finish to it. Not loud, but enough to make your face 3D and not flat like many powders can create. It has a good staying powder, and didnt irritate my skin at all. Shade wise…NC/NW 08 to 10.

DSC_4449 DSC_4450 DSC_4452 DSC_4454

LAURA MERCIER Brow Poder duo in Auburn:

From up to down: The box, The duo, Swatch: L to R; Light color – Darker more copper color

Comments: If you are a redhead and been desperately trying to find an eyebrow product that isn’t blonde, warm blonde, chestnut or the such. This is for real redheads. Has a pure copper shade and a more toned down shade if you don’t need such intense color.

DSC_4478 DSC_4479 DSC_4480

LAURA MERCIER Eye Basics in Eyebright:

From up to down: The primer, unblended swatch, blended swatch

Comments: Brightens my eyelids beautifully. Plus kept my eyelids oil free for a long while. Haven’t tested with eyeshadow yet.

DSC_4498 DSC_4499 DSC_4500

BOBBI BROWN Long wear gel eyeliner in Violet Ink:

From up to down: The box, The eyeliner, Swatch

Comments: I have this eyeliner in all possible shades. This one was missing from my collection. This violet brightens your eye, and thats why I got it. Staying power: well…for a reason my whole eyeliner collection is made of Bobbi brown ;)

DSC_4484 DSC_4485 DSC_4487

BOBBI BROWN High Shimmer lip gloss in Firefly:

Comments: Hubby said my lips looked very nice when I had this lipgloss on. I guess it says something, I love the sweetmint taste, I love its staying power. It is very shimmery, but in a wearable way.

DSC_4495 DSC_4496 DSC_4497

NARS Light Reflecting Setting powder – Pressed – in Translucent Crystal:

From up to down: The box, The compact+puff+protective case, Close up of the powder, Swatch

Comments: OH, Oh! This is a miraculous product. Setting powder, that diminishes your pores, keeps your skin oil free…but gives you a nice glow??! Yup. It worked. And its totally transparent. Doesn’t cake at all, doesn’t alter your foundation color. The pan texture is funny. It looks/feels like plastic, I thought: what on earth? Product wont come off out of this…is there like a protective layer or something? Actually not, thats how the product is.

DSC_4422 DSC_4415 DSC_4421 DSC_4420

that I won plus some magnesium powder, and nail products.

I shall do individual reviews for each of the products.

For your reference, I am NW10 now in my arms since I am still sort of  ‘tanned’.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

